Community Sector Banking’s sponsored Churchill Fellowships announced

24 Sep 19

In 2018, we partnered with the Churchill Trust to offer two new Churchill Fellowships in 2019 to support and strengthen leaders in the Australian not-for-profit sector.

After receiving a large number of applications, we would like to announce that the successful recipients of the sponsored Fellowships are Cara Peek of Western Australia and Jan Maggacis of Queensland.

The first Fellowship, awarded to Ms Maggacis, has been established to support the development of leadership skills and people and culture programs so future challenges can be met across the not-for-profit sector.

With more than 20 years of experience in leadership and governance, she intends to visit academic institutions and business schools across the USA to research strategies and resilience training methods to develop sustainable leadership models that will support not-for-profits through generational changes in leadership.

The second Fellowship, awarded to Ms Peek, was created to support an Aboriginal or Torres Strait Islander person to explore positive interactions and outcomes between Indigenous peoples, communities and the not-for-profit sector.

Peek, a proud Yawuru/Bunuba woman, is the Founder & Chairperson of Saltwater Country – a multifaceted Indigenous-led organisation that builds on the symbolic power of the Aboriginal Cowboy in remote Australia. She wants to experience First Nations-led events in North and South America to inform the development of Saltwater Country programs and build a network of like-minded social enterprises across the nation.

Following their overseas research trips, we will invite both Ms Maggacis and Ms Peek to present at future Board meetings and conferences to share their research and their experience.

We believe a strong and thriving civil society helps nourish our communities, and opportunities like this allow us to invest in the not-for-profit sector to help create positive impact in society.

Congratulations to both Ms Maggacis and Ms Peek on receiving a Fellowship.